Lumia 950 Trial

On Thursday (my 32nd birthday) I received Microsoft’s new device the Lumia 950 as part of a trial they’ve asked me to do. As you’ll see in my last post I gave the launch of the Lumia 950 and 950XL  a real hard time, so it’ll be really interesting to see how they really shape up in my hand.

I’ve been in the Windows Phone ecosystem since the beginning with the HTC Titan running Windows Phone 7, which I thought was a great phone. I now have the Lumia 930, which I’ve had for a very a long time and is also a very good phone, however does come with a heating issue. I’m now looking at the new crop of Windows Phone devices so this has come at a fortuitous time for me to review.

So what did the lovely guys over at Microsoft send me I hear you ask? I’ve got the Lumia 950, Arc mouse and keyboard including Continuum with all the wires that connects everything up.

Lets first start with the Lumia 950. Overall its much better looking than its bigger brother the 950XL. It’s surprisingly light, thin and fits well in the hand. Overall, I’m quite impressed. It charged as quick as they say, so within half an hour I was ready to start downloading apps and heading in to town to give it a proper test.

The keyboard and arc mouse are as slick as ever, which leaves Continuum. As you’ve probably read in my last post the Lumia 950 and Continuum aren’t the first device to try and turn your phone in to a laptop or PC and I’m sure it wont be the last, but the way Microsoft have structured Windows 10 and the use of this little black box they call Continuum is different to everyone else. This little box is about 5cm square and for it’s size is fairly heavy. However, it’s very discreet, currently sitting under my TV in the lounge. It connects up very simple and I’m looking forward to giving it a thorough test drive.

Overall, I must admit, I am a lot more impressed with not only the device, but Continuum as well. Initially, I thought this was a Microsoft PR stunt, but looking at it they’re very serious.

I’m going to try and get a post out every day on my journey with this new phone and gadgets over the next two weeks so keep reading and keep coming back for updates.

Ciao…

Leave a Reply

